Evening at the Ranch

Image

I watch the red and orange colors fade from the sky and the clouds start to turn grey. I hear a dove in the distance and the twitter of a robin as it flies by. I listen to the creek as it flows over rocks and some fallen trees. I gaze at the sheep as they slowly make their way through the field, nibbling grass as they go. Our blue Heeler, Kadie, waits patiently for me to kick her soccer ball. Gunner, our red Heeler, peers into some unused pipes looking for a “bunny rabbit”. The sound of frogs chirping brings on the night and the moon grows brighter. I wait for the first stars to come out as I listen to the chorus of sounds around me. A hound dog bays, some sheep bleat, a cow moos, and Gunner barks trying to coax the elusive rabbit out of it’s hiding place. I wonder if others would find the evening too quiet away from the traffic, sirens, people yelling, air conditioners running in the south, and even planes flying low overhead? To me the sounds I hear are soothing and a peacefulness settles over me. Good night y’all, sleep well.

Leave a Reply

